Sweet Potato Quinoa Patties

Standard

My kid’s got an adult-sized appetite.  He’s also not into that “baby food”, thank-you-very-much.  Since we followed the baby-led weaning method of introducing foods to him, he has been pretty happy eating whatever I am eating.  In fact, he prefers to nibble off of my plate most of the time.

I’m sure you’re sensing a theme here.  Sweet potatoes.  I use them.  Always.  They are delicious, and so full of good-for-you stuff.  They are also a pretty bright orange color, and nothing makes me happier than pretty colored food.

We needed a quick and easy meal the other night, it was just the two of us and I wasn’t in the mood to spend forever cooking just to have to clean up a kitchen full of dishes.  It was the end of the week, and I didn’t have much left in the fridge.  The day before grocery day is one tough customer!

I hopped around the internet for a while and came across a recipe for Sweet Potato Quinoa Patties.  We love sweet potatoes!  We love quinoa!  We love vegetarian patties!  Score.

I was thrilled with how they came out, they were so tasty, and oh-so-easy.

No photos because, well… you try taking photos of your food before a hungry one-year-old digs in.  Next time.  Maybe.

Sweet Potato Quinoa Patties
Adapted from A House in the Hills

1 large sweet potato, baked or microwaved and skins removed
1 cup cooked quinoa (1/2 cup quinoa, 1 cup vegetable broth or water)
1/2 red onion, diced
1 small parsnip, diced
2 cloves crushed garlic
1 Tablespoon olive oil
Herbs, spices, flavoring of choice
Salt, pepper
Panko or bread crumbs
Oil or butter for cooking, I used olive oil

1) Prepare quinoa according to package instructions, or use left overs.  I used 1/2 cup dry quinoa and 1 cup of vegetable broth.
2) In a saute pan, cook onions and parsnip in olive oil over medium heat until the onions become slightly translucent.  Add garlic and herbs of choice, I used dried sage and parsley.  Add salt if desired.  I didn’t because I was cooking for Brian.  Stir a minute more.
3) Mash cooked sweet potato in a bowl.
4) Add onions, quinoa, salt, and pepper to the mashed sweet potato.  Stir until well combined.
5) Form the mixture into patties, coat with panko.
6) Cook them in oil or butter, a few minutes per side, until they are crispy and browned.  Serve hot.  I served them over a spinach salad and topped each with a few slices of avocado.

Makes about 6 patties

2 responses »

  1. I just tried this recipe and they turned out a bit watery/difficult to keep together. Do you have any tips on keeping them together when cooking them?

    • Hi! Sorry they turned out a little watery. Working with quinoa can be an adventure…

      I’d say to play around with the quinoa- use a little less water or a little more quinoa when you cook it, or even cook it a little longer to make sure a lot of the moisture is taken care of. It takes a little molding to get them into patty form- I think that in the past I’ve let the quinoa mixture cool before shaping it, it helps it to stick together a little better.

      When they are cooking, I’ve found that if you turn them too soon they can fall apart.

      Hopefully your next attempt is smoother- please let me know how it goes and what changes you make!

Leave a Reply

